Trying Something New

New to me,  but very old to some.

The ancient Japanese art form of Kumihimo braiding has been around since the 8th century.

I recently discovered this by accident.  While perusing an online bead shop and seeing mention of certain stringing materials being used for this art form.   I looked it up and found it was fairly simple.

So I ordered the kit for a mere $12.

The Kit

I had to wait till this past weekend to try it.   It took a little to get the rythum.   The kit came with a ket chain project and handy directions.   I found it easy but challenging in the beginning.  It was fun learning about a “new” craft and I will definetly use this technique in future projects.

My first braid

This website has all the supplies you’ll need should you decide to have a go at this.

http://www.primitiveoriginals.com/kumihimo.html

Leave a comment